Personal injury protection (PIP) is a common coverage option auto insurance providers offer. It covers medical expenses and, in many cases, lost wages in the event of an accident. The major benefit of PIP coverage is that it pays out claims regardless of who was at fault for a crash. As a result, however, an insurance policy that includes PIP coverage will be more expensive.
There are only 13 states in which PIP is mandatory, and West Virginia is not one of them
. PIP is, however, available in the state and offered by all major auto insurance providers.
Below is an overview of what is required
in an auto insurance policy per West Virginia law:
- $20,000 per person bodily injury coverage
- $40,000 per accident if more than one person suffers bodily injury
- $10,000 per accident for property damage coverage
- $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident for uninsured motorist coverage
Uninsured motorist coverage protects you in case you are involved in a car accident with a driver who does not have insurance. This coverage pays your losses up to the policy limits. Underinsured motorist coverage is not required in West Virginia, but it can protect you if you are in an accident with a person who has just minimum coverage.
Keep in mind that these are just the bare minimums required by West Virginia law. You will likely find you will want significantly better coverage to feel comfortable in case a crash occurs. If you suffer serious injuries in an accident, good coverage can prevent you from going bankrupt due to medical bills.
For further guidance on filing an auto accident claim
, call Calwell Luce diTrapano PLLC at 304-400-6558 or contact our West Virginia law firm
online to schedule an appointment.